Progress Update: 15 January 2013

It’s been almost two months since my last post, and I think you all deserve to be kept in the loop. Design has been chugging along, but a number of kinks have reared their head in playtesting, so I’ve had to modify and remodify and reremodify various rules and setting elements for both the core rules and Torata.

I wish the design process was a bit more visible to all you internetgoers, but unfortunately playtesting is a slow business (especially since I hardly ever get any reports back from loyal readers!)

Right now there are two final elements I need to pin down before I’m ready to move ahead with  version 2.0 (hopefully the last release of the core rules). Health (currently “wounds”) is going to work a bit differently:

Health Points (HP) will be 10 + Toughness. In combat, the amount that an attacker beats a defender’s roll by will be the damage done. This also allows armor to give you damage reduction, solving a longtime thorn in my side.

Magic is still in flux, though I think I might be getting close to pining down a basic unified system that can be modified to fit various settings. Essentially spells are given as Talents, you have a mana pool (proabably 10 + Willpower), and each spell costs mana. This needs to be playtested a bit more before I finalize it, but the concept seems solid thusfar.

Torata is getting a pretty big overhaul. If you’re really interested in the design process, I’m posting a link to the wiki I use to organize my thoughts in the sidebar. [EDIT: As of right now, I can't set the wiki permission to public viewing without "verifying" my account. I'm trying to do so without giving my phone number to the internet, but it refuses to accept my bank card for some reason. Will work on this, sorry for the broken sidebar link.]

I’m also going to add the link to a Light of a New Sun wiki that I’ll be working on sometime in the next few months.

I would like to apologize for getting ahead of myself in earlier posts and promising release dates that I couldn’t meet. This is slow going, but I promise I have not let 2d6 drift. These things just take time.

With that, I bid you all a fond farewell. The site stats are inspiring every time I see them (we broke 10,000 total pageview recently, and with very little advertising!), so keep gaming and I promise I’ll keep you all in the loop, even if updates are only bi-monthly.

Have fun out there, everyone!

About joshuagager
I'm a Senior Biology student and Independent RPG designer. I like words, food and dice. Also, I'm quite fond of plants.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

