Delta

So, as promised, here is 2d6 Delta edition! It’s tweaked, polished and adjusted to be more streamlined, realistic, and balanced. Changes include:

– a simple XP system rather than separate points for skills and talents

– items no longer give a bonus on checks, they’re simply useful for doing things

– nothing but skills and stats gives numeric bonuses, other buffs mostly allow rerolls

– more organized mechanic and elimination of arbitrary DCs (if you’d actually like to know how this works, email me and I’d be happy to sahre, but I’m not going to bore all the people who don’t like probability here)

– Bookmarks in the PDF!

– minimum DCs for magic spells

– probably other things I forgot to mention!

You can download it here, or you can click the link in the sidebar. I’ll be working on putting up the html version of the rules over the next week or so, and then it’s full steam ahead for Torata!

Happy gaming!

About joshuagager
I'm a Senior Biology student and Independent RPG designer. I like words, food and dice. Also, I'm quite fond of plants.

2 Responses to Delta

  1. cal says:

    Joshua, just wanted to say that your system inspired me to pull together a couple friends and start a game. We all played in our youth, but haven’t played for probably 25 years… I probably needed more RPG rules when I was younger, but simplified rules really help focus on story and character… We really liked the simplicity of tracking all attributes and skills as roll modifiers… We played halfway thru a western/horror last night and will finish it off next week. It was a great way to get back into gaming and focussing on the things we liked most–story telling and imaginative play… Thanks for the inspiration and for putting your work on the web…

    • joshuagager says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed 2d6, and I’m even more glad that it got you and your friends back into gaming! 2d6 is all about bringing people together. My friends and I were sick of games devolving into rules arguments, so we came up with the proto-2d6 to simplify everything and bring the story and the human-human interaction to the forefront of our games.

      I’m stoked to hear that 2d6 worked out for you, happy gaming!

Leave a Reply

