2d6 Full Release!

Guess what? The full release of the 2d6 Roleplaying System is at hand!

To download the PDF File of the Full Release Core Rules, click this link.

Major changes from Delta:

  • Stat costs now scale the way skill costs do, and you get more points with which to buy them
  • Armor grants rerolls on results of 2, 3, or 4 depending on the type instead of 1, 2, or 3 times per day
  • Magic is now based on Resolve (which is now the combination of Toughness and Willpower, similar to Initiative)
  • Cast and Resolve are no longer skills
  • Cinematics cost 2XP and can no longer grant an automatic boxcars, but do allow you to deal or negate additional wounds in combat
  • Stat Rearranges were removed, though they may come back in someday as part of a set of advanced, optional rules
  • Fancy layout

There still aren’t any illustrations, though there are placeholders in the pdf. These will make it easier for me to phase in the art as I get it, which in turn will allow me to release future versions faster, since I won’t have to re-lay them out every time I get new art.

I’ll be posting the html version of the rules on the site over the next few days, and I’m also looking into making a wiki for easy navigation.

Torata is just about done, but I’m still tweaking the monetary system, the politics, and the magic/items, so there’s a bit more work to be done.

Thank you to everyone who helped design, playtest, and drum up interest for 2d6! It’s been a long road, and all your help has been appreciated more than you can ever know!

Happy Gaming,

– Josh Gager

About joshuagager
I'm a Senior Biology student and Independent RPG designer. I like words, food and dice. Also, I'm quite fond of plants.

2 Responses to 2d6 Full Release!

  1. dbro36 says:

    Hey Joshua,
    Congrats on the release. I also posted on your RPG.net thread, but here’s another one. Like I said, you can host PDF files on WordPress.com, so I’d go for that if I were you. Also, if you want a couple hundred hits from interested people, you should submit the news of your release to http://www.tabletopgamingnews.com.

    So, am I right in assuming 2D6 is in essence a lighter version of D&D / Pathfinder / D20 type systems?

    Good luck on everything!

    Cheers,
    Daniel

    • joshuagager says:

      I replied to your comment on RPG.net, but I’ll reply here too for the benefit of other 2d6ers:

      Thanks! I’m certainly interested in hosting the PDFs straight from wordpress, as that would make life a lot easier for me and for everyone who downloads 2d6. I’ll look around for a tutorial and see if I can’t get that up and running over the next few days along with the html version of the rules.

      Basically, 2d6 was made in direct response to DnD 4e. After reading over the rules, two things became abundantly clear to me:

      1. 4e seems geared towards kids who were raised on combat-heavy MMOs like WoW. The narrow class restrictions seem designed to nerf even the most stalwart powergamer at the expense of good roleplayers, which I don’t think should be the point of a system.

      2. The entire system is incredibly movement-centric. While I can’t say for sure, this seems to be a design to encourage the purchase of minis, battlemats and terrain pieces, which I also think is a bad way to write a set of rules for an RPG (though games that are meant to be battle/tactics-centric, like yours for instance, make sense to be movement/mini focused). Just like with government and friendship, as soon as money becomes an issue, everything gets complicated.

      That’s why I’ve made 2d6 free and simple. It will always remain free and simple. Any splat book that are release will be put out as genuine supplements to enrich your gaming experience, not to feebly try to make a profit off of an industry with a bad business model. The only way I ever hope to make a few bucks is selling adspace to RPG-related advertisers once I get my own site up and running sometime in the far future : )

      I checked out your system too, and it seems like you’ve got a good handle on some solid battle mechanics (something I never had much of a head for – I only dabbled in 40k for a couple years). Best of luck, I hope you go far!

Leave a Reply

